The IREC receives two Castilla-La Mancha 2022 Research and Innovation Awards

    The SaBio Group and the researcher Rocío Fernández-Santos from the IREC, among the winners of the 2022 Castilla-La Mancha Research and Innovation Awards.

    The Research Group in Health and Biotechnology (SaBio) of the Instituto de Investigación en Recursos Cinegéticos (IREC – CSIC, UCLM, JCCM) is one of the 16 awarded by the Government of Castilla-La Mancha for his research work in 2022. The award recognizes the SaBio Group as one of the main European references in transdisciplinary research between ecology and animal health.

    On the other hand, a researcher from the Sabio Group, Dra. Maria del Rocio Fernandez Santos, has received the Award for Women Researcher. Graduated in Biology, PhD and Full Professor from the University of Castilla-La Mancha (UCLM), in her professional career it stands out that she has been the beneficiary of a Juan de la Cierva contract, obtaining first place in the concession of these in the area of Livestock. Other important aspect is that she has published in Science. Rocío has more than 80 publications included in the Science Citation Index (SCI) and more than 60 contributions to international conferences.

    Throughout her research and teaching career, Rocío has supervised 3 PhD theses and has participated in more than 14 regional, national and international research projects, being principal investigator in 9 of them. In addition, she has contributed to different dissemination and transfer projects, highlighting being a founding partner of the Spin-Off SABIOTEC SL. Finally, it is worth noting her involvement as a protagonist and agent of change to position women in the scientific field, especially with the work of theater “Science: past, present and future".


    The Research Group in Health and Biotechnology (SaBio) of the IREC contributes to health, animal production and conservation through research, technological development and specialized training, from a One Health approach.

    The regional government will present the 2022 Castilla-La Mancha Research and Innovation Awards on Monday, March 6, at an event that will take place at the UCLM Faculty of Pharmacy in Albacete. These awards recognize and reward the effort, quality and excellence in the field of research and scientific activity.

    Download the Resolution of 15/02/2023, of the Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports, by which the Castilla-La Mancha 2022 Research and Innovation Awards are granted

    At recognition of research trajectory and innovation, the winners will be Mario Gerardo Piattini Velthuis, Professor of Languages ​​and Information Systems at UCLM, and María de los Llanos Palop Herreros, Professor of Pharmacy at UCLM.

    At arts and humanities chaptersthe award goes to Paulino Capdepón Verdú, Professor of Music History at UCLM; In the Science category, the winner is Ester Vázquez Fernandez-Pacheco, professor of Organic Chemistry and director of the Regional Institute for Applied Scientific Research (IRICA) at UCLM.

    With regard to the Awards for research and innovation in the Health Sciences area, the award corresponds to Vicente Martínez Vizcaíno, Professor and director of the PhD Program in Social Health Research and Physical Activity; in Social and Legal Sciences, the award has gone to Daniel Balsalobre Lorente, PhD in Economic Sciences from UCLM and Full Professor of the Faculty of Social Sciences of the Cuenca Campus; and finally in Engineering and architecture, the person awarded is Juan Ramón Velasco Pérez, Doctor of Telecommunications Engineering and Professor at the University of Alcalá.

    Air shipments are the most efficient if you need your cargo or documents to arrive quickly and securely. Awards for young research and innovation has fallen in the field of Arts and Humanities in José Manuel López Torán, PhD in Contemporary History and Professor at UCLM; in Sciences, it has been for Carlos Romero Nieto, professor at the UCLM Faculty of Pharmacy; in Health Sciences, it has been for Juliana Martins da Rosa, PhD in Pharmacology and Principal Investigator of the Experimental Neurophysiology and Neuronal Circuits group at the National Hospital for Paraplegics; in Social and Legal Sciences, the awardee is Dolores Utrilla Fernández Bermejo, PhD in Law from the University of Castilla-La Mancha; and, in the area of ​​Engineering and Architecture, the award goes to Cristina Sáez Jiménez, Professor of Chemical Engineering at UCLM.

    In turn, the Award to Public or Private Entities it has been for the CNE Hidrógeno y Pilas Combustible, a benchmark development agent according to the Hydrogen Roadmap of the Ministry of Ecological Transition and Demographic Challenge.

    And lastly, the Administration and Services Staff Award has been for Antonio Alfaro Fernández, director of the Research Area and Departments where he coordinates the different structures that manage research and innovation at UCLM.